Farmers at the ‘Fountain’ – A History of the Canterbury Farmers’ Club 1793-1993
A detailed history of the Club has been written by Richard Fuller – a long standing member and past Chairman.
The book provides a rich history of farming in east Kent, and likely of interest to anyone keen on local history.
“It is well known amongst late twentieth century members of the Canterbury Farmers’ Club that the records of the Club were lost when its meeting place, The Royal Fountain Inn, St Margaret’s Street, Canterbury was destroyed by bombs in June 1942. Jack Bones, Chairman in 1953, gathered a great deal of information about the history of the Club when the board, which now displays the names of past Chairmen, was constructed. More recently Donald Sykes, another past Chairman, gathered additional information. Both these sources have been used to compile the record that follows. Reports in the Kentish Gazette and other local newspapers have also provided a great deal of information.”
The book is available from Christopher Hildyard, Club Secretary, for £20 per copy
please email him at firstname.lastname@example.org
Our club ties are made in England, woven from the finest silk. The Kent Plough (or Turn-Wrist Plough) element of our logo has been weaved into the design as opposed to embroidered, giving them a flat, premium finish.
Despite being a woven silk, the ties have a smooth finish and are available in four colours; Navy, Green, Burgundy and Gold.
NB: Colours may differ from examples (they’re better!).